Honest Abe tells it how it is


The below quotes, by the 16th President of the United States, have been gathered and presented to you in the hope of informing and inspiring today’s generations. The situation today is not all that different from back then. The selfish and greedy few are still taking advantage of the naive masses, and slavery has been given the politically correct term of “Taxes & Debt”. It is only when the masses join together in unison, that the “powers that be” will be forced to listen. If “divide & conquer” is their approach, then “United as One” should be ours. Peace be with you all. – mús


“The money powers prey upon the nation in times of peace and conspire against it in times of adversity.

The banking powers are more despotic than a monarchy, more insolent than autocracy, more selfish than bureaucracy. I see in the near future a crisis approaching that unnerves me and causes me to tremble for the safety of my country.

Corporations have been enthroned, an era of corruption will follow and the money power of the country will prolong its reign by working on the prejudices of the people until the wealth is aggregated in a few hands, and the Republic is destroyed. They denounce as public enemies all who question their methods or throw light upon their crimes.

I have two great enemies, the Southern Army in front of me and the bankers in the rear. Of the two, the one at my rear is my greatest foe.”

– Abe

“Allow the president to invade a neighboring nation whenever he shall deem it necessary to repel an invasion, and allow him to do so whenever he may choose to say he deems it necessary for such a purpose – and you allow him to make war at pleasure.”

“Those who deny freedom to others deserve it not for themselves.”

“I don’t like that man. I must get to know him better.”

“I am a slow walker, but I never walk back.”

“All my life I have tried to pluck a thistle and plant a flower
wherever the flower would grow in thought and mind.”

“Whatever you are, be a good one.”

"Every man's happiness is his own responsibility."

“As I would not be a slave, so I would not be a master. This expresses my idea of democracy.”

“When I do good, I feel good. When I do bad, I feel bad. That’s my religion.”

“And in the end it is not the years in your life that count, it’s the life in your years.”

Abraham Lincoln (1809 – 1865)

Discussion box

