The Power of Words (Positive Affirmations)


"Be the light you wish you see in the world"

There is a lot to be said for the practice and use of positive affirmations and enforcing a general sense of positivity in one’s own life.

As we are, it is often the simpler things that have the most profound effect on us. However, appearing basic, that something can easily be taken for granted, or at least not given the full consideration it deserves.

The secret to positive affirmations lies in the name. To affirm positivity – positively!

Words have such a huge impact on us that they can affect us deep within the psyche, and once lodged there, can be more difficult to discard.

The use of positive affirmations draws on this phenomenon to help create a brighter atmosphere within. Almost as if we open a window in a musty room and allow the ensuing air to enter, engulf and encapsulate our souls with the purity of freshness.

Like formulae in mathematics allows the subject to understand future equations, I will provide a basic example which you can adjust to suit your own life.

“I will not allow others to affect me, my emotions or my actions in a way that does not constitute my higher self” – while this may seem positive, it draws on negative words to give it purpose.

This is where I find a lot of people holding themselves back from attaining their goals (which can generally be traced back to the underlying desire of wanting to be happier in life, on a daily basis). Also, the use of ‘will’ implies an intention to do something at a future date. What we are aiming for is ‘here and now’.

So, try this instead:

“I AM

a Free Spirit – a Divine Soul,
a Living, Breathing, Functioning entity
endowed with Free Will to Lead my Life as I see fit.

I Choose to Allow into my Life, all those who Enable Positivity within me.

I require only the Energy Within Myself to Feel Good, Be Good and Create Good in this World.

I AM forever grateful for every opportunity that presents itself, which allows me to be that which I am here to be.

I AM a beacon of Light for those who seek a brighter today.

I AM present with the Eternal moment.

I AM Infinite Love & Bliss.

I AM.”

Let me know what you think of this post and I will build upon it and other points that I am sidelining in the name of ‘focus of topic’.

One hint though, why “quit smoking” or “stop eating junkfood” when you can “choose to live, breathe, and eat healthier”! Remember, keep within the positive!

My aim is to inspire, encourage and help you to remember that you already are the best that you are. You only have to realise it for yourself.

Share your own affirmations and words of encouragement with us in the comment section below, so others may learn and grow through a shared experience. After all, we are all in this together.


If you liked this article, you may also like Practical Awareness



“Header: Original image, used with permission, by AndreaGuate (www.flickr.com/andreaguate)”

8 thoughts on “The Power of Words (Positive Affirmations)

  1. I would love to see more of this! 🙂 and thank you for your ability to express these thoughts clearly 🙂 love and blessings

  2. Excellent post. I especially like how you point out that the word ‘will’ pertains to a later time, many people are not fully aware of this or do not consider it when first beginning the use of affirmations. You are correct in stating that we must think in the ‘here and now’ if we hope to truly benefit from these affirmations.

    As a writer and an avid reader I can appreciate the power that words have in my life and I try to use as many positive ones as I can on a daily basis. 🙂 Thank you for your comment on my site and for directing me to this wonderful post, great job! I will definitely be back to see more 🙂

    The affirmation I use on a regular basis is some version of what I have written below, I substitute words depending on the areas and emotions I need to encourage at that moment. I find that is it a great reminder of who I am, it is beneficial to my self-esteem and it is a positive start to my day allowing me to focus on all the things that are important to me with an open heart and a positive mind.

    “I choose to live life my way. I choose happiness, love and positivity. I am a wonderful, beautiful, amazing person and I am content with myself and my life.”

    Cheers!

    1. Welcome – and thank you very much, also!

      This site, like myself, is in an ever constant state of growth and evolution. I believe everyone has the capacity to be student and teacher, to inspire and be inspired; in mutual harmony. Which is why I find encouragement, joy, and inspiration, from reading insightful comments like yours and others here.

      Thank you, too, for sharing your affirmation with us. I’m sure others will feel the benefit that positive words can instill, when used correctly. I know I did as I was reading it! 🙂

      Kindest regards – SM

Discussion box

